Byelection winners sworn in at Parliament

Nyein Zaw Lin + Myo Min Htet
Candidates who won byelections are sworn in at Parliament on the first day of the fifth session of the Lower House in Nay Pyi Taw on Thursday.
Candidates who won seats in the April 1 byelections were sworn as parliamentarians before the fifth session of the Lower House in Nay Pyi Taw on Thursday.
The new MPs in the Lower House are Nyunt Aung from Monywa Constituency, Aung Kyi Thein from Chaungsone Constituency, Dr Aye Maung from Ann Constituency, Mya Sein from Dagon Myothit (Seikkan) Constituency, Nay Kyaw from Dagon Myothit (East), Kyaw Swe Win (Ar Luu) from Kawhmu Constituency, Win Min from Hlaingthaya Constituency, Sai Win Aye (Sai Tun Aye) from Mongshu Constituency and Sai Aung Kyaw from Kyeethi Constituency.
The new members elected to the Upper House are Dr Maung Maung from Yangon Region Constituency-6, Bwe Khaine from Chin State Constituency-3 and San San Myint from Bago Region Constituency-4.
Aung Kyi Thein, who won a seat in the Lower House, said: “We will seek new experiences. A legislator has many tasks to do. Proposals must be submitted to the parliament. Questions must be raised. For them I am studying. Questions appropriate for our region must be raised. 
“I formerly pledged that I would assist farmers’ affairs. I will be in favour of raising questions for farmers. 
“I am now studying how to present a proposal. After that I will seek the voices of residents and their needs,” Aung Kyi Thein said.
Similarly, 12 military candidates picked for the Lower House and 10 for Upper House were sworn in together with civilian poll winners. 
Win Myint said: “Our Lower House Parliament warmly welcomes the military elected candidates.”
Translated by Win Htut