UEC announces by-election candidates

Kyaw Zin Win and Nay Rai

The Union Election Commission (UEC) has announced the list of parliamentary candidates for the coming by-election to be held on April 1, 2017.

The list, which was announced on January 2, includes 88 parliamentary candidates from 24 political parties, and seven independent candidates that will run for 19 vacant constituencies across the country.

49 of them will race for nine Lower House seats and 15 candidates are in the running for three Upper House seats. 31 candidates will vie for seven state parliament seats.

The commission’s secretary Tin Tun says the list at first included 96 candidates, but one of them was rejected as he is an incumbent government servant.

The Union Solidarity and Development Party will compete in all vacant constituencies and the ruling National League for Democracy party will contest in 18 vacant constituencies.

In Shan State, Shan ethnic parties such as the Shan Nationalities League for Democracy and the Shan Nationalities Democratic Party will compete for eight vacant constituencies.

In Mon State, the Mon National Party and All Mon Region Democracy Party will contest for one constituency.

Other candidates included three from National Unity Party, five from National Democratic Force party, four from Democratic Party, six from National Development Party, and one each from Democratic Party for a New Society, Myanmar National Congress Party, People Democracy Party, People's Party of Myanmar Farmers and Workers and Myanmar Farmers Development Party.

Other ethnic parties from Wa, Larhu, Rakhine and Chin will also participate.

Dr Aye Maung, a former Upper House representative, from Arakan National Party will run for a constituency in Rakhine state.

In the Kawmu constituency, where State Counsellor Aung San Suu Kyi won her seat in 2015 general elections, nine candidates from seven political parties are in the running.

The Lower House has nine vacant constituencies and the Upper House has three vacant constituencies. State parliaments have seven vacant constituencies.

The 2017 by-election has about 2.2 million eligible voters and more than 300 overseas voters who can cast their votes in advance.

Translated by Tun Tun Win